A Dispatch from the Beach

My family has a secluded beach that we like to visit. It’s about an hour and a half away from our home in Wellington, New Zealand and we love it. I have spent the last few hours in the car organising my iPhone apps, and I’m here to defend my decision.

I think people have funny ideas about how leisure time should be spent. But leisure time is extremely personal, like what sorts of books you like, or your favourite foods. Some people can relax next to a pool, some relax typing numbers in spreadsheets. Some go on safari, others play online games. It’s important to relax, but there’s no right or wrong way to do it.

I slept a little, I walked a little, I talked with my kids a little. And yeah, I’m writing this little post after updating my iPhone Home Screen and a series of different Focus Modes that iOS gives me. It wasn’t the way many people would spend time at the beach, but it was just right for me.